Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

CAP Lecture Series | Jeannette Kuo

Feb. 19 @ 12 p.m. - 1 p.m.

Spring 2024 Feldberg Rourke Endowed Lecture

>> RSVP to Attend
*Please note: Livestreaming will not be available for this lecture.

About the Lecture
About Time
Architecture has traditionally been designed as fixed objects where the responsibility of the architect ends with the handover of the keys. Today, given the ecological crises we face, it is critical that we reconsider how our buildings evolve over time and how they contribute to a broader understanding of our material resources, climate, and culture.

About Jeannette Kuo
Jeannette Kuo received her Bachelor of Arts degree in Architecture at U.C.Berkeley (1999), her Master of Architecture with Distinction at Harvard University (2004), and her Master of Advanced Studies at ETH Zurich (2010). After working for Barkow Leibinger Architects in Berlin and Architecture Research Office in New York, she started teaching in 2006 with the Maybeck Teaching Fellowship at UC Berkeley and went on to teach at MIT (2007—2009) and at the EPFL Lausanne (2011—2014). Since 2016, she is Assistant Professor in Practice at Harvard Graduate School of Design.

Karamuk Kuo was established in 2010 by Jeannette Kuo and Ünal Karamuk who bring their international background and diverse building experiences to their design process. Foregrounding the relationship of space and program, each project is approached with the optimism that architecture is the translation of fresh ideas into reality. The office works on projects of a range of scales—from spatial installations and exhibitions to complex institutional projects—and is always looking for new creative opportunities. In addition, both partners are committed to intellectual pursuits in design research and have been teaching since 2006 at various universities in the U.S. and Switzerland. Recent awards include a double recognition for BestArchitects 19, a LafargeHolcim Awards Acknowledgement prize and a nomination for the Iakov Chernikov Prize recognizing promising young architects.